Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Boston, the Red Sox and a New York Girl

Leave a comment

I visited my friend, Nicky, in Boston last weekend–loved it!! Like any community, Boston has a particular culture and that involves the love of the Red Sox. On Saturday, people filled the sidewalks watching a baseball game on televisions that were more suitable for living rooms than for a sidewalk audience. I asked a vendor who was watching the game on a portable TV the name of the teams playing, he told me without removing his eyes from the screen, “Red Sox and the Orioles.” Upon hearing this I said, “Whohoo, go Orioles!” He looked at me then.

I am currently living in Baltimore and I am a New Yorker and so I was on the side of the Orioles. I have only heard about the love that Bostonians have for the Red Sox team but I experienced it last weekend. My friend told me that the love is often overwhelming, especially for someone who is not a native.

I enjoyed Boston, despite the residents’ crazy fascination with a baseball team. Honestly, I am somewhat jealous of this kind of spirit shared by so many people in one area. There is something to be said about tradition. In New York there is love for the Yankees, but we are a city full of individuals, and so if someone applauded another team, the world would not stop spinning– well, it depends on the borough…

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

