Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

School Begins…

1 Comment

…and I am not happy. Oh, the summer of freedom is leaving me. I will be at my professors’ will. Gone are the days when I could just select a book at my leisure. The funny thing is, I was up late last night, reading an article on this poet by the name of Rilke, which led me to other authors he influenced, including Julia Alvarez. I never read an entire book by her but I just love her. I remember reading an excerpt from the book, “When the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents” and astounded by what she wrote because being a girl with an “accent,” (everyone has an accent by the way) I connected with her writing immediately. Anyway, I thought to myself last night, ” I would love to read that book in its entirety.” Alas, the realization came: my time is limited and I have a book and poems that I want to read before the workload gets hectic. Damn it all!!!

However, in the effort of being grateful, this is my last year in graduate school and so I am thankful. Hopefully, I can read a couple of good books in between textbooks and papers.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

One thought on “School Begins…

  1. Graphic Novels are very quick reads, I don’t if she has one out though. All jokes aside, I would tell you to go my route, but your interested in being responsible…right?

Leave a Reply

