Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Do We Choose Books Based on How We live Our lives?

Leave a comment

If we see ourselves as victims, are we more drawn to tragedies? If we are passionate, are we drawn to Austen? What makes us choose the books that we do? I find myself drawn to certain books based on what’s going on in my life. Maybe I should say books come to me, based on what’s going on in my life. Right now I am in the middle of three books; what does that say about me?

Imagine if our reality was based on the books that we chose: we become the character we most identify with in the book. I think that this is somewhat indeed our reality. I think we are drawn to books not only as a form of escape, but also to connect, to seek validation.

The human connection is examined in every art form, but in books you can create your own canvas. The author, no matter how descriptive, cannot fulfill totally what the reader will ultimately imagine. So we bring along with this imagination, often, our own biases. In exploring the characters, we are exploring ourselves. Which character do we understand best? Who do we root for? Who do we scorn? Are these expressions based on what happened in our real lives? Do you understand why Florentino Ariza would wait over forty years for an unrequited love in “Love In the Time of Cholera” or do we look at him as a mere crazed love sick fool? Maybe you just thought that it was just a damn good book.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

