Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Awareness

Leave a comment

It’s National Breast Cancer Awareness Month and I am reflective. Last year I ran the Revlon 5K in New York. While I did it to achieve a personal goal, most people ran and walked for family members and friends affected by cancer. Attached to their backs were signs dedicated to their moms, sisters, aunts etc. It made my little goal insignificant in that moment. Today I was reminded again about people being affected by this illness. A fellow student’s mom is battling cancer, for the second time. While checking in to see how her mom was doing, I looked at her and thought how foolish of me, to want one thing to go my way, when honestly, there are a million other things that are indeed going my way. I am aware and grateful for the things that are going well: my family is doing well; I am healthy, as far as I know; I have great friends, and I am learning more and more each day about being compassionate to myself, as well as to others. I looked at her trying to be brave for her mother, and I had to “check” my own selfishness.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

