Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Kiss Me, I’m Jamaican

Leave a comment

I had a friend reminded me the other day, not intentionally, how beautiful my culture is. He played some oooole school Bob Marley, and it took me back to my childhood days. The music that came from that small island was and still is fabulous (some of the music nowadays are rather commercial, but I digress). I am talking about ska, dub music and reggae (which is different from dancehall music). These music forms often came from the most oppressed areas of my homeland. I have been listening to some of the music I heard growing up, tonight, and my heart is smiling (yay!).

Sometimes others have to remind you of the gifts that you possess or have access to. I found this wonderful document online, showing the evolution of music in Jamaica:

jamaican-music-roadmap-1.jpg

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

