Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

I MAN IS AN IMMIGRANT TOO

Leave a comment

For some reason it seems as if the immigrant is being stereotyped into looking and sounding one way– Latino. This stereotype here, America needs to stop: the idea of “illegals” or undocumented individuals sneaking into this country being Mexican. Que? There is an array of people, from all over the world, coming into this country illegally; people come here from Europe, Asia, the West Indies, I could go on. There are people who live in Chinatown and do not know English. So when you are assuming that ESL is limited to only Spanish speaking individuals–think!

So, why am I venting about this issue? I think that we (humans) are quick to separate ourselves from the group currently under the microscope. So there are some people who have been in this country for decades, who are even more unforgiving on this immigration issue than people who were born here. There are people who act as if the immigration issue is strictly a Latino fight, including some Latinos.

Well, maybe it is a Maryland thing. In New York it’s black and brown all the way! Here we are separated; I am so not use to this. I am usually shouting, “Viva La Raza(!)” with my brown sisters and brothers, now I feel so removed from it all. Now I am the first to admit, I have been seeing a lot of blacks acting like they do not know what it is to be oppressed or marginalized or taken advantage of. See, I am stuck in the middle people: I am an immigrant but I look like my people have been in this country for centuries, and for a state like Maryland, that means a lot. So what am I trying to say? Well, let’s stop trying to compartmentalize ourselves, and just realize that we are HUMAN! It may sound like a cliché, but it is true. So the sister who I spoke to about helping in the fight, should not have been seeking allies, cause this thing is not just an immigrant fight, it’s fight for all of us.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

