Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Student Vs. Teacher

2 Comments

“The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man knows himself to be a fool.”
William Shakespeare

“If any man thinketh that he knoweth anything, he knoweth not yet as he ought to know”
–1 Corinthians 8:2 (The Bible–American Standard Version )

So, these two phrases summarize what I am thinking at the moment– I don’t know jack! I am not saying this in a deprecating way at all. I am saying this because I am learning so much this year. I am reading so many new and wonderful books– discovering authors–expanding my mind. Yet, the more I read, the more I am finding out there is so much to learn, and I am loving it! There are books to read, places to go,miles to run. Speaking of running (tangent,lol), I have decided to run a 5k next year. I am not sure if many of you know this, but I have lost over 70lbs. Last year, as a part of my weight lost goal, I ran a 5k. I did this in 40 minutes, but I completed it! This year I want to complete it in 20 minutes, at least. I began a 10 week training program last week, and I really want improve my time, and also do something good for a worthy cause.

Anyhoo, back from the tangent– I am loving life right now. I listened to a lecture by Jorges Luis Borges where he said he prefers being a reader to being a writer, and I totally understand. I prefer the role of a student than a teacher. I love to learn, to find something out that I never knew before–experiencing the newness of something.

Have you ever watched children when they are learning something new? It is amazing. What is even more amazing is the way in which they are totally present when learning. I want to constantly learn and be present in every moment of it. Life indeed is amazing!

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

2 thoughts on “Student Vs. Teacher

  1. The teacher is first a student, even though it’s highly likely that the teacher came before the student (chicken vs, hen analogy: which came first?). I believe that it takes teaching what we learn to others for us to truly make it our very own. When we teach others we begin to see new avenues of thought that expand our understanding of teh subject. What do you think?

  2. I figured someone would say that. I understand that point of view,as well. If I had to choose, I will always choose the student. The greatest reason for wanting to mostly be in this role, is not the role itself, but in the interaction– the very act of learning, discovering.

    Your point,however, is understood and taken! Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

