Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Fascinated, Addicted and Overwhelmed—BLISS!

Leave a comment

I find that I have a new addiction, well maybe not a new one but…

I told myself that I would go straight to bed, without staying up to read articles on writers and their experiences writing, but here I am yet again, reading another article. I think I have a fascination with Zadie Smith (still reading White Teeth), I am fascinated by her mind– she is seemingly unpretentious. I’ve read articles, watched interview with her on Youtube, and I love the fact that she is a young women of color, still wraps her hair with the headscarf sometimes :). She writes from her heart. It is obvious that she is a lover of words and books.

I am also fascinated by Junot Diaz, Edwidge Danticat, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Jhumpa Lahiri, to name a few—young writers who write with passion and expand the world’s perception of what it is to be an “other.” I especially love it when they highlight their influences, and pay homage to just great writers, no matter their race, gender or creed. At the end of the day “real recognizes real,” as they say in New York; meaning beautiful words cannot go unnoticed by one who inhabits them within, as well.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

