Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Are You Satisfied With The Life You’re Living?

2 Comments

A friend of mine commented on the lack of posts lately, and really, I do not have an answer for him, one that will suffice anyway. I have some posts that are saved in draft form that I haven’t actually posted on-line. I don’t know if I will ever post them. So friend, I have been writing, just haven’t been posting :).

So what have I been doing lately? I have been discovering me. I have fallen in love with the possibilities of something greater. I have decided the kind of life I want to live and I am trying to find a way of living it that way—happy, healthy, content. I have found a voice within that is constantly reminding me to be true to myself and that in return, being true to myself will be being true to God. He has already instilled in me that truth.

Bob Marley once said, “Open your eyes and look within and are you satisfied with the life you’re livin'”( I worked on a mural with Bob’s picture and those same words on Theodore Roosevelt High School’s walls in DC, on Martin Luther King Jr. Day). Dem some deep words right der. Sure there are things that I wish I could do more of— I wish I had more money so I didn’t have to worry about going to India, or second guess taking a writing class. However, I am satisfied with where I am at the moment. I am on a journey trying to be good to myself, trying to be good to people. Taking care of stuff that happened in my past that might show up in my present and learning to love again.

The tagline for my blog is, ” I Celebrate Myself…” the first line of Whitman’s “Songs of Myself,” one of the most pure and unpretentious words strung together. So what am IĀ  doing when I am not posting? I am celebrating the people around me, the lessons, my history, my deen (religion), humanity. I am celebrating me…

So now I turn around and ask you, “what have you been up to, friend? Are you satisfied with the life you are living, when you look within?

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

2 thoughts on “Are You Satisfied With The Life You’re Living?

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. šŸ™‚ Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

