Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Sunday Mornings…

Leave a comment

I love Sunday mornings. I woke up at nine this morning and forced myself out of bed. I had to get food and I craved Ethiopian for lunch, Ethiopian food that is. 🙂 I have an online job from 12-4 and so I knew I had to buy my food from this awesome Ethiopian Restaurant on Fenton. The weather was overcast. I just had a pedicure yesterday–color, pink, and so I slipped my sandals on and walked. I ended up at Starbucks for my mocha and croissant and continued. I loved the songs that were playing on my ipod– world music, from Asha Bhosle to Baba Maal and everything in between.

Stopped by my local used bookstore; it was closed. I was kinda bummed out about that, they were suppose to be open. Stopped at the restaurant, made my order and enjoyed the meeting between English and Amharic. They were serving Sunday brunch– doro wat, misr wat and other favs of mine, yum! Got my order… thought about having something for my birthday there– just a thought. Lovely place.

On my way back from the restaurant, the bookstore was open (yippee), the lady said she had a late start. They didn’t have the Orhan Pamuk book I was looking for. (That book is awesome! I may devote another post entirely to it!) Said goodbye to the lady at the store and the books, and continued walking. I switched my songs on the ipod to a play list I created entitled, “One,” a combination of songs of praise and inspiration from different faiths. I had Eva Cassidy’s “How do I Keep from Singing,” on repeat until I got back to my apartment at 11:50. Hmm, I had a beautiful Sunday morning.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

