Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

My ‘To Do’ List

Leave a comment

It’s 6:05 in the morning, who knows what time it will be when I actually finish this post. I realized that I haven’t posted in a while. I go through my spurts of growth in writing, as I do in life, I suppose. I was reading a fascinating blog that my friend told me about. He thought that I would love it because of the way she lives her life. I agree with him wholeheartedly! I love her morning runs and yoga poses, the pictures that she takes of “Bean,” her son and DH, her husband. I especially like the way in which she writes about the simple things in life and just through her words she shows how important and meaningful they really are– like making pancakes, making easter eggs, washing a glass at the kitchen sink. She’s a writer as well and she began her blog specifically to improve her writing, like I did. So, I guess I have a soul blogger…;)

In one of the posts she wrote a list about what she wants to accomplish in her life. I too have a list like this and so I will like to share, because, I am just in a sharing type of a mood this morning:

Love this picture. When I was a child I would make wishes after catching some it\'s fragments. Sometimes if I see a piece floating in the air I try to catch it and make a wish (without looking too silly now, I\'m an adult)

My Life’s “To Do” list, Inshallah (God Willing)– In no particular order.

1. Run a 5K in August and then a 10 K within the year

2. Write a short story and get it published

3. Move to a country to learn Arabic and French for a couple of years

4. Become a BIG sister (mentor)

5. Join the Peace Corps (It would be cool if that coincides with #3)

6. Take writing workshops

7. Travel around to the most exotic bookstores in the world

8. Take Hip Hop, Salsa,Ballroom Dance and Traditional Indian Classes

9. Make yoga a part of my life

10. Take more pictures

11. Buy a camera

12. Stronger Deen (My Religion)

13. Buy a house with a garden and a big kitchen

14. Trips to India, all the countries in Africa possible

15. Have an awesome study!

16. LOVE with my heart

17. Live in truth

18. Rock Climb

19. Learn to Row

20. More Hikes

21. Camping, “ruffin’ it ” at least one time

22. Learn how to drive ( I know seriously)

23. Learn how to ride a bike (I know seriously)

24. Learn how to swim (diddo cubed)

25. Earn another degree

27. Pray (Salat) and Meditate more frequently

28. Learn how to ski correctly, just to swoosh down the slopes once

29. Write a book, get it published

30. Find a job that I am passionate about

31. Write essays like Baldwin and hooks and get them published

32. Travel twice a year internationally

33. Have weekend getaways where I can discover more of America

34. Be better at giving back- consistent volunteer activity once a week

35. Read my poetry on a stage once

36. Have fresh flowers in my space frequently

( The list may be updated as I learn and grow)

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

