Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

How to Listen

Leave a comment

I burned my hand last week, badly. It was the palm of my right hand and I was in pain for hours. In the end, I had to go to the emergency room. After waiting in the hospital with my hand in bags of ice, I finally got a chance to see the doctor. My doctor, Dr. G, was Muslim. When he found out that I too was Muslim, he started to test me on my Muslimness; the man was less worried about my hand and more concerned if I knew how to recite El-Fatiha

The moment I burned my hand, I knew it was a wake up call. After all, it was the month of July, a month and a half after I arrived home and in some ways I feel as if I am sabotaging my own progress. I have made some progress spiritually, but I have to be better to my physical body and claim my purpose without question or doubt. So, in the midst of trying to be compassionate to myself, I want to do better and listen to lessons of the Universe. They say that the Universe speaks to you at first in a soft voice and if you do not listen it will begin to increase its sense of urgency with a tap on the wrist, then a slap on the face and it will continue until it might give you something to really listen to if you do not take heed. So, I am trying to learn how to listen in order to make the right choices.

I remember reading Eat,Pray,Love some months ago and the author stated that at the ended of her journey, the women who she became—this complete being was probably the same person who was speaking to her at the most difficult time in her life ( she heard a soft voice speak to her years earlier). Her higher self spoke to her, the one who knew what she was capable of, spoke to her in the most compassionate voice, but in a voice that was also urgent. She listened. I want to listen to my higher self. I sense Her speaking to me everyday. In a quiet prayer, I continually seek guidance to know the right choices that I have to make and when to implement those choices. I want to be at a place where I can look back and know that I learned my lessons from the soft voices and maybe from a couple of taps on my wrists and not a slap in the face for me to wake up and listen.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

