Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

MeMe (past, present, future)

Leave a comment

I came across this idea on a blog that I recently discovered and immediately liked it, both the blog and the idea. So here goes:


20 Years ago:

I was ten. The first thing that came to mind was me living in Jamaica with my uncle, aunt and cousins.

15 Years ago:

I moved to United States. It was December and I was moving from a tropical place to a cold one. My mom dressed me in layers because of the cold in America. I remember it like it was yesterday— I wore blue jeans, a purple sweater. I remember me going without fear of the unknown—interesting.

10 Years ago:
I was in college, far away from home. I went to a predominantly white school, began my journey of what it meant to be black in America. It was difficult for me… to be in one instance, living in a place (Jamaica) where you were the majority, and the next, coming to a place (America) where you are the minority…. messes up ya head, if you let it.

5 Years ago:
I was in DC, moved away from home to serve in Americorps. There, my idealistic seeds were sown. I came across quotes like, “Be the change you wish to see in the world,” and the story of “Stone Soup,” highlighting the importance of community involvement.

3 Years ago:
I decided to go to grad school. I remember a silent voice told me that if I didn’t apply, I was going to regret it. Sure enough, that following spring,after I sent in my application and received my acceptance letter, they eliminated my position and offered me a job as an administrative assistant because I had a BA degree. When that happened, I smiled internally, I knew what that voice was talking about…glad I listened.

1 Year ago:
I completed my first year of grad school. I was excited and was doing very well. I also received a summer job of implementing a conference on leadership development for girls. Was deeply infatuated.

Yesterday:

I did yoga in the night, in the hallway of my parents’ home. I did it there because every room with adequate space in the house was occupied. It was one of the best sessions I had. Sounded OM for at least 15 minutes after that session.
Today I:
Did yoga in the morning (lovely session, better than last night, actually… ma body’s getting stronger), went to the Grand Army Plaza library in Brooklyn, near Prospect Park, in the afternoon. There is this grand gate there were magnificent sculptures—I wanted a camera, badly! I loved it. I needed a day around books where I could just browse. The best moment aside from my yoga session was me asking the librarian how many books I could check out of the library and his reply was, “99 used to be the limit and now it’s down to 50.” I thought he joking at first, but he was serious.

Tomorrow I Will:
Inshallah, do yoga and meditate before my sister and nephew gets up. Go to the neighborhood park; read my books that I got from the library. Try to find my checkbook: I have to pay my therapist in MD her final fee. Maybe hug a tree in the park.

In the next 5 years:

Happy and content. Live a lot more in the moment. Healthy– physically, emotionally and spiritually. Have my own place where people feel welcomed and loved. Traveling a lot more. Follow through more on my dreams. More financially secure. Avid yogi and runner with a little pilates in between. One of these or all: having just completed the Peace Corps or another degree or just completed the Peace Corps and working on my degree or in my dream job and totally happy about it. Know to write and speak French and Spanish fluently and beginning Arabic. In love with a fabulous guy who loves me back. Surrounded by great people—keeping the people who are in my life now.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

