Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Where did the Time Go?!

Leave a comment

It’s August–I can’t believe it! So, I just got home and I am already on the computer trying to see if I received any mail for the day and I just HAD to check my Facebook account. I had an interesting day today, which ended with me spending time with some friends. I belong to a meetup group and they are a group of exceptional people. They make me heart New York even more. I’ve belonged to this group for approximately 3 years. When I went away to grad school, I was really sad and missed them a lot. I remember when I returned home this summer, I knew that they would make me want to stay. Now it’s getting really hard to leave.

The meetup’s meeting place is about an hour away from my house and so I have a chance to read on the train. One of the books that I am reading is a book I borrowed from the library entitled, “Whitman,Slavery and the Emergence of Leave of Grass;”How cool is that?! This is an interesting topic and I like the book so far. For me Whitman has always been this inclusive man who welcomed slaves at his table to eat in Songs of Myself and discussed the plight of other marginalized groups during his time. He was one of the first white authors to do that in American history. Reading this book has opened me up to a man whose views on slavery were more complex than I first realized.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

