Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Revisiting A Promise

Leave a comment

While having the desire to express myself at 3am in the morning, I have decided to revisit a promise I made to myself in May: to live my birthday month, perfectly. I did not do it. Time went by in a blur and I am really not sure what happened. Did I even attempt this endeavor? I am not really sure.  I will  try not to make any excuses for myself. All I know is that I feel as if I am on the brink of some great accomplishment or adventure but I keep on making the wrong turn. Is there a lesson that needs to be learned somewhere? What am I missing?

“I am pregnant with potential but yet I birth silence,” so begins one of favorite poems by Jessica Care Moore. That lines speaks volumes of what am feeling. Should I fast another month? What’s the deal with my yoga session? I lack discipline. I am too hard on myself… I need to let go.

I think I am going to revisit that promise, the one where I would do simple things that feed my soul. Five simple things that nurture me inside and out:

1. Pray/Meditate

2. Yoga/ Excercise

3. Write

4. Cook/Eat Healthy

5. Sleep at least 7-8 hours a day

Maybe a quantitative approach may be helpful, e.g. yoga 3x a week or write in my journal every night before I go to bed…I dunno. However, I will attempt again this promise. I will revisit it.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

