Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Us vs. Them

1 Comment

Here’s the thing: most of my posts have been very introspective. If you are one of my friends on Facebook you would know that I am really into the political scene; I post like totally serious articles, dude! Anywhoo, if you only read this blog, you would never really know that. However, something has gotten me outside of myself, outside of my mind: this issue of undecided voters in this presidential election and them maybe being, get this– RACISTS!

According to a recent Stanford University/Associated Press/Yahoo study, Obama would be six points higher in the polls if he were white. Wow! Kristof, from The Times wrote about this in a recent Op-Ed piece. In addition to articles that I have read and news shows that I have watched discussing this issue, I have heard this with my own two ears: undecided whites discussing this issue. When listening to NPR two days ago, a working class white woman from Pennsylvania stated that she was afraid that if Obama gets into the White House he would only “help them,” his own. Questions started to swirl around inside my mind: which “them” are you talking about, woman? Are you talking about the poor and working class? Are you talking about the average American? Who are you talking about?

Tim Wise in one of his speeches discussed this race myth and talked about the categorization of race and what that meant for poor whites to actually feel important and subsequently work for rich whites. The first blacks who came to this country were not slaves, they were indentured servants like the other indentured servants who were whites. The poor–black and white, were together. This paradigmatic shift (race classification) occurred and has been perpetuated for centuries– some poor whites feeling a sense of superiority against blacks just because of the color of their skin and yes there are blacks who buy into this myth, as well. So, when that woman talked about her concerns regarding Obama only taking care of blacks, she is ignorantly enforcing this systematic form of oppression that has been placed on the poor, regardless of race. So go ahead and vote for the Republicans, my dear and see if you are going to be one of “them.”

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

One thought on “Us vs. Them

  1. Dude, I will tell you the same thing I told that other guy,
    thats not rascism.

Leave a Reply

