Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

His Country, Too

Leave a comment

Former Secretary of State, Colin Powell endorsed Barack Obama yesterday. I was particularly moved when he talked about the young Muslim soldier who died in Iraq. Colin Powell’s speech was a much needed one, where he described the need for a transformational leader like Barack Obama at this time. We, as a country are indeed polarized at this moment and in order for this nation to take its place as a world leader again, we have to be united. Senator Obama has the ability to do just that.

The story of Kareem Rashad Sultan Khan is not unlike that of any American young man who wanted to serve his country. I wanted to learned more about this brave young man and so I found some more information here . Although I detest war, I think there something to be said about his bravery and the way in which his life illustrates that we are all Americans who love our country, Jews, Christian, Black, White and yes, Muslim. Thank you, Kareem Rashad Sultan Khan, for your service.

Here is a little bit of what Powell said:

I feel strongly about this particular point because of a picture I saw in a magazine. It was a photo essay about troops who are serving in Iraq and Afghanistan.
And one picture at the tail end of this photo essay was of a mother in Arlington Cemetery, and she had her head on the headstone of her son’s grave. And as the picture focused in, you could see the writing on the headstone. And it gave his awards — Purple Heart, Bronze Star — showed that he died in Iraq, gave his date of birth, date of death. He was 20 years old.
And then, at the very top of the headstone, it didn’t have a Christian cross; it didn’t have the Star of David; it had crescent and a star of the Islamic faith. And his name was Kareem Rashad Sultan Khan, and he was an American. He was born in New Jersey. He was 14 years old at the time of 9/11, and he waited until he can go serve his country, and he gave his life.
Now, we have got to stop polarizing ourselves in this way. And John McCain is as nondiscriminatory as anyone I know. But I’m troubled about the fact that, within the party, we have these kinds of expressions.”

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

