Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

With Clasped Hands

Leave a comment

It’s fall but it feels like it’s winter. It’s cold outside and I am not in any hurry to go outside. This past weekend I volunteered with the Obama campaign, calling voters in Ohio and that was the last time I went outside. The colors of the trees were so beautiful. I wish I had one of those really expensive cameras where I could capture every hue on film. I am thankful for the camera that I have though.

Since Saturday I have been sick… again! Today I opened the front door of the house to grab the mail and the wind was crisp and for that brief second I felt as if I just opened to door to the freezer in the kitchen. Boy, it’s cold out there. I am afriad to go out before my poor asthmatic lungs can recuperate from all that coughing and wheezing.

Lately, I have been having intense conversations with the Most High, God, however, you want to address the Divine. I started doing this a couple of weeks ago after reading an awesome article in the Yoga Journal about the importance of prayer and gratitude. I am learning to be sincere in my conversations and acknowledging the fakeness within me at times. I strive for authenticity. If I cannot be true to me, true to God, to whom can I be true?

So, when I get ready for bed, after writing in gratitude journal, I take a minute to talk to Him: giving thanks and requesting favors. This has been really helpful to me lately. Sometimes I meditate, sometimes I repeat the sound Om; I mostly try to focus on my heart, the article discussed the importance of tapping in from there. All this to connect before praying.

Last night I had a deep conversation within myself, with God , thanking Him* for my family especially after hearing what Jennifer Hudson went through with the death of her family. I prayed about my continuous strive to let go and have faith. I thanked God for my ancestors who surrounds me; I heard spirituals/hymns, they were there. I cried, I dozed off, woke up and thanked Him again.

* For me, God transcends gender, last night however, God was very paternal.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

