Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

No Substitutions

Leave a comment

I have reader’s ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder). I have been buying books–great books, but nothing is holding my attention. This past weekend, I made a day trip to Philly and came across a hardcover version of The Bad Girl,the latest book by Mario Vargas Llosa–it was only seven bucks–I had to have it! The thing is, I don’t have the beleif that I will finish this book either. The last book to really hold my attention, throughout was Jane Eyre. There are books that I yearn for, ones that I own but are locked up in storage and when I come across them in bookstores, I am reminded that I actually own then and that it would be pointless for me to own two of the same books– especially when I need to be on a budget.

The Bad Girl is going along fine. It is a good book but I do not look forward to read in after work like I did with Jane Eyre. It might just be my state of mind right now and when I am; It has nothing to do with the books that I own. Maybe my reading relationship mirrors my personal relationship: waiting for The One that will make me look forward to a meeting, an opening, something reciprocal instead of settling for what is in front of me…or in my bag. Substitutions are just that, substitutions, but right now, they’re what I have.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

