Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

On Beauty…and Acceptance

Leave a comment

I have been waking up at 5 in the morning to workout. I have said this before, but this time I am slowly getting there–I am seeing the transition not only in my body, but also in mind. Below are a couple of things that I’ve thought to myself  and wished that I had my laptop right there (to blog) on the train, on my way to the gym:

1. Closed my eyes for a couple of minutes on the train trying to compose myself and visualise my day, and when I opened my eyes one of the most beautiful sunrises greeted me. It took me by surprise.

2.  Sat across from a transgendered person, and as we sat across from each other I thought to myself, ” Woman you are one brave one! It takes a lot of  guts just to be you–to put on that lipstick and paint those nails, not matter how many people stare. I both celebrate you and envy that fierceness!”

3. While reading On Beauty by Zadie Smith, I became  nostalgic for a moment, missing my books and how I have another copy of the book locked up in storage in Maryland. I remembered how Howards Endwas stuck in that prison, too. Zadie Smith payed homage to E.M. Forster in writing On Beauty, and I so missed my own copies.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

