Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Turkiye

Leave a comment

I am not sure how descriptive I was about my trip to Turkey, but I know that I at least alluded to how much I enjoyed myself, and to a certain degree the trip changed me. My friend’s husband even told me how he noticed a change in me since my return — in a good way. So, it comes as no surprise that I want to return and even live there for a time.

A friend of mine who is Turkish American told me about this book that talks about James Baldwin’s time in Turkey. He stayed there for approximately ten years. I love James Baldwin. I love his books, his speeches, his complexities…and so much more and so I can see why she highlighted this book for me. The book, “James Baldwin’s Turkish Decade: Erotics of Exile” discusses his experience and also his influence on the country. I borrowed the book from the library this past Saturday (right before the big snowstorm hit the City) and was excited that it was there — I tried to borrow it when my friend first told me about it  but they did not have it then.

In between my errands, on the subway, I read the introduction by the author, skimmed the pages to see pictures and smiled at pictures of Baldwin in Taksim Square (where I stayed), the Bosphorus (where I visited), and other Turkish landmarks. ” Turkey saved my live” the author quoted him saying, and I guess, to some degree it did the same for me.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

