Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

For People Who Love to Peruse Places that House Books in Large Quantities

Leave a comment

I don’t think I have been this excited about a new bookstore find for some time: Idlewild books on 19th Street, an amazing bookstore close to 5th avenue, adds flow to the otherwise stagnant book community in NYC. I am sure that there are great, independent bookstores in NYC, but around the Union Square area, there’s Strand, which I heart…and then there’s Barnes and Noble. That’s it.

I found Idlewild, after coming from the Barnes and Noble textbooks store on 5th avenue. This visit to B &N textbooks was my last attempt for finding this book for one of the book clubs I belong to, after calling and going to bookstores to find the book to no avail. I found the book at the textbooks branch of B & N. Whew! In my state of tired, I just happened to walk down 19th Street and came across this place, on the second floor whose brightness illuminated practically half of the street (I am not exaggerating, that block was not lit well.). When I looked closer, I noticed it was a bookstore. Good golly!

I met the owner, David, last night, and I expressed my excitment about finding Idlewild  and how it was an awesome find. Part of its appeal, I told him, was that it was tucked away. Business wise it might not be the best location, but it is perfect for a person who just loves to discover and peruse books and the places that hold them in large quantities.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

