Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Getting Stuck

Leave a comment

I began to write a long account of how two women were really mean to me for no reason and were really rude. They were older,white women who used some words that were not necessary and I went “there” the place where any minority might go when they are being treated less than high humane by a seemingly majority — I was angry and although I responded in a calm manner,that anger stayed with me for some time. I really wanted them to understand me and they just didn’t care and that was frustrating. I was stuck in the situation although it had passed 15 minutes ago.

Today makes another anniversary of MLK’s assassination and as I write this I cannot imagine all the things that he, other leaders and unsung heroes for social justice had to go through. From the field of the migrants workers in the West Coast to the lunch counters in the South the tenacity that it took to withstand all that hate should never be forgotten. So, to those two ladies thank you for reminding me to give homage to the ones who came before me and who shed their blood, sweat and tears for me without knowing me. I know that I am what was hoped for: an immigrant who could come to this country and succeed, a person of African decent who has the opportunity to manage a diverse group of people and a woman who votes every time she gets the opportunity.

So, while I work on forgiving your hatred, I will embrace their love…

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

