Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

When A Little Bit of Innocence is Lost.

Leave a comment

Today my nephew’s pet turtle died. I got the news via BBM (Blackberry Messenger) from my sister. I knew my nephew was really sad — his pet turtle named Nelson passed, and now he has to deal with the reality of death for the first time. I called him as soon as I heard, and his pain was heart wrenching to hear over the phone. I wanted to hold him for as long as he needed, but I was miles away silently crying with him in a corner before needing to give a speech. My pre-speech jitters were overtaken by the instant need to make it all better for my nephew, and to support him on one of his saddest days so far in this life. I felt the urge to say that he is in Turtle Heaven, but that would be a lie for I do not know where Nelson has gone.
So, in the middle of mourning a life, Nelson’s, and mourning the little bit of innocence that has been taken from my nephew (Although I know that kids bounce back pretty quickly from disappointment and pain…better than us grownups at times), I am off to buy my nephew a toy car… per his request.

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

