Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Wake Up!

1 Comment

I find that when I write my posts, they are often about my own growing pains and internal struggles — trying to be continuously good to myself and to the people around me. This one is a little different:

Throughout American history, there are always people who are targeted for who they are. Today, unfortunately, it is no exception, there are groups who are being targeted and used as scapegoats for an awry of pain that we as Americans are experiencing. In my own city, Latinos are being physically attacked for who they are, anti-Muslim sentiments are at its highest.
For some reason there are people who want to remove diversity from the American quilt.
This opposition to the proposed building of the Islamic Cultural Center blocks away from Ground Zero makes me so sad for a variety of reasons but here are a few:
1. To say building the community center, at that site, is a disrespect to the Americans who died that day (yes, people are saying this), is a disrespect to Muslims Americans who died on 9/11 due to those attacks.
2. These sentiments of hate are reinforcing what terrorist groups have said about America.
3. I am almost positive it would be a different sentiment if it were a Christian community center being proposed.

These reasons are just a few. We often repeat history because fail to acknowledge our wrongs and work to heal. Early 20th century Jewish groups desired to build a place of worship in the Lower East Side and they were turned down. Today, this is happening again, not only in New York City, but across the city.

Even so-called “liberal” friends have been quiet about this. People who claim to be open minded are ignoring this because…I am not sure why to be honest. They who should be infuriated by the current increase in the blatant hate in our country, often say nothing.

Apathy is worst than hate.

When will we ever get it right? When will we be conscious? When will we wake up?

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

One thought on “Wake Up!

  1. “I am almost positive it would be a different sentiment if it were a Christian community center being proposed”.
    You are 100% right about this Regina! Example:
    The Oklahoma City bombing was done by American extreemist who as a part of that extreemism held to right wing Christain ideals. At no time has it ever been suggested that the Christian Churches in the area should either be torn down or not built because the bombers had a conection to the Christian church. In this context the suggestion is seen as outragous; why isn’t the same standard applied to the NYC ctr.? Sadly, we know the answer don’t we…

Leave a Reply

