Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Pura Vida

Leave a comment

In Costa Rica, leaving for the states tomorrow…

There were so many highlights from the trip some of them were in the moment frustrating, others were exhilarating. This experience reminds me so much of what my grandma would always say to me, “Girl, you a travela” meaning that I can make it through hard times due to resiliency that a person who frequently travels has. And I get what you mean grandma, I surely do.

My friend and I traveled to quite a few places in 5 days: Cahuita (Pronounced Ca-wee-ta), Puerto Viejo, Limon and now we are spending our last night in Costa Rica in San Jose.

If you have been to Costa Rica, or know a little bit about the country, you will notice that we stayed quite a bit on the Caribbean side of the country. Most of the people are descendants of Jamaicans who came over as workers over a century ago. As a Jamaican, it was an interesting experience seeing how big of an influence my homeland has made in Costa Rica especially on this side of the country.

There is more to write, but I have to get up early in the morning for my flight. However, here are some highlights that I may talk about in future posts:

1. Getting into Cahuita on the first day, Cahuita

2. Seeing two people I knew growing up, randomly, during my trip, USA and San Jose

3. The Ms. Black Beauty Pageant, Limon

4. Being a black tourist/traveler in a world more used to white tourists/travelers

5. Meeting some of the most amazing people from all the world

6. Using this strange keyboard to write this post. (Not really, but it is indeed very different from what I am used to using)

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

Leave a Reply

