Ngala-Najla

I Celebrate Myself…

Nelson Mandela

2 Comments

It took me some time to write about Nelson Mandela…because I had to take the time to in some way “deal” with him passing. When I say “deal with his passing”, it is not about his death per se — he was 95 years old.  For me it was more about his life and what it meant to me, so maybe I had to take the time to deal with his legacy…and also the legacy of the people who will not be and were not elevated like Mandela. People like Stephen Biko, Ahmed Kathrada, all the countless students  and people who marched, were jailed and killed fighting for freedom and equality during the Anti-Apartheid Movement. So for me Mandela is a symbol of a movement that is so massive that upon reflection I am humbled. 

Author: ngalanjala

I Have Learned So much from God That I can no longer Call Myself A Christian, a Hindu, a Muslim, A Buddhist, a Jew. The Truth has shared so much of Itself With me That I can no longer call myself A man, a woman, an angel, Or even pure Soul. Love has Befriended Hafiz so completely It has turned to ash And freed Me Of every concept and image My mind has ever known. ~ Hafiz ~

2 thoughts on “Nelson Mandela

  1. I love that all who are born after Mandela’s actions and grace are know as the “Born free” generations. Two simple words that wipe away the horror and cruelty of Apartheid. ALL due to the grace and vision and mind bending acts of one astonishing man…

    • The truth is Aunt Pat, it wasn’t only him. There were other people who had the grace, vision and mind bending acts. (Also, not every action that he did was peaceful. He was on America’s Terrorist Watch List until relatively recently.) He, however, lived by his own truth and like other people who I looked up to give much respect (like Malcolm X) when he realized that there was another way or that he was not 100% right is his convictions, he made a selfless choice and decided on what’s right for his people of South Africa as a whole. He talked about having discussion with men in prison, who were imprisoned for the acts as he was, and they discussing the important of coming out of prison without revenge and anger lingering on their tongue. He talked about learning this from others. All this does not take away from all that he did. He was indeed the symbol but he did not do it alone. When we honor Nelson Mandela were honor the countless others who were a part of the struggle for freedom but let’s not take away from the truth that there countless others in the struggle for freedom. I only named two in my blog post.

Leave a Reply

